Thoughts On

#MeToo

Thanks to actress Alyssa Milano, since Sunday, the hasthag #MeToo has been flooding various social media platforms. Which, actually, has encouraged many girls and women to open up about sexual harassment and sexual assault. Within a few hours, the hashtag became a trending topic.

As soon as I read Milano’s message, I automatically wrote #metoo, without hestitating, whithout a doubt in my mind. After I posted on my Facebook wall, I had a flashback about all the times I had been sexually harassed, and it terrified me.

I realized that it all began when I was 12 and that meant that I have been harassed for 14 years, more than half my life. It is frustrating and it hurts.

Women, we experience sexual harassement on a daily basis. No matter what we are doing or where we are going, nothing is ever quite right, we never get to feel fully confortable anywhere. And after it happens, we do not feel fine, we feel embarrassed, we feel weak, and, sometimes, we feel guilty.

We can say  NO a million times and in a million different ways, but for them it is never enough, they never stop. It is like trying to fight an invincible monster. A monster that has been fed for many years by our sexist society. And what angers me the most, is that we are constantly exposed, since we are girls, and we are still trying to be silenced.

The #metoo trend made me proud of all these amazing, brave women, who decided to speak and share their stories with the world. However, it also disappointed me, now, we have this endless list of victims and survivors, but happens next?  How many more women will it take for sexual violence to stop? Where is the list with the culprit’s names? Who is going to hold them accountable for what they have done?

PS: I know the image is in Spanish, but I translated it for you ❤

*From left to right, up to down.*

  • Square 1: It does not only happen in Hollywood

“If you want to do good, you know what you have to do”

  • Square 2: They are not isolated incidents

“What? You’re not going to hug me today?”

  • Square 3: It’s not cultural

“It has always been this way, that’s how we play”

  • Square 4: They are not only hashtags

#MeToo #Yotambién

  • Bottom Square: And no, it is NOT just a few.

 

 

Leave a comment